THE 7 YEAR OLD!

He wanted to sent my brother a picture of his missing teeth...whatever floats his boat!

He wanted to sent my brother a picture of his missing teeth…whatever floats his boat!

Seriously, who gets the flu on their birthday?!

Seriously, who gets the flu on their birthday?!

My youngest child is now turning 7!   That’s not a baby. Good thing I got that dog or I’d be having serious anxiety!  So, I will say a few words about my wild child.

I knew before I got pregnant with this child that he would be my last child. My husband wanted a little girl.  The ultrasounds all seemed to point to a girl…up until that last one, when we found out we were having a boy.  Layla became Riddick.  Riddick became the end of me.  He stole my heart the day he was born and he has yet to give it back.

I always tell people that I have no clue how my children got so sweet, except for this one. He is his mother’s son. He’s smart and sarcastic.  He’s bluntly honest and stubborn as a mule.  Deep down, he has a heart of gold. He’s always been more independent than I have been been comfortable with.

Personality wise, as I said, he is his mother’s son. However, physically, he’s built like his father. Wide shoulders and blue eyes.  He’s a perfect compliment to both of us. ❤

As he turns 7, I have so much to look back on.  A lot of people thought I was crazy for wanting another baby. My husband had a son. I had a daughter. We had twin boys. Why in the world would I want another child. I just did. I knew that this child was waiting to be born.

This child is one of the funniest people I know. I asked him what he wanted for his birthday, and he replied, “oh, you can just get me whatever you want to”.  He then went to his room and started searching toysrus.com. He comes back a few minutes later to tell me I can now get him a 3d ds with  a Sonice Boom Shattered Crystal game.  Isn’t he a nice kid?! By the way, that’s what I got him. I’m a sucker.  Then I had to go back to the store to get him a charger. It never occurred to me that I would need to. Since when do they not include an AC adapter in the $200 piece of machinery that you buy?  Apparently now. Anyway, so I got the ds…I got the game..and then I got the charger. All is right with the world again.

Poor kid, he really wanted to celebrate his birthday this weekend because his big brother wasn’t going at our home on Tuesday, his birthday. (This is my husband’s son from previous marriage. After 13 years, I like to think of him as my favorite son from another uterus.)  So, we decided to celebrate on Sunday. Of course, birthdays are a big deal, but we don’t throw big parties. One, because it’s a lot of work. Two, because I don’t like for people to feel as though they have to buy gifts for my kids. Three, because it’s a lot of work. So, I planned a small Sunday afternoon party at home. Late Friday night, one of the twins started running a fever. Of course, on Saturday, the other twin, the 6 year old (almost 7) and the mother all had fevers. Of course this is followed by vomiting.  By the way, I’m the mother.

My husband, on the phone, made the comment that there would by no Sunday party. This sent my sick son into a fit, stating of course, that he was no longer sick. Poor kid, I’m not sure if it was his brother so much as the presents that he wanted.  Either way, this plague taking over my house is getting on my last nerve.  So, with sniffles and clothes that we’ve had on since Saturday, cause who wants to shower and change when you spend the day sick in bed, we celebrated. He did of course get his 3d ds. Funny thing, while I was setting up his profile, I got a message. Due to the nature of his name and it’s content, some viewers will not be able to view his profile name. (Kids with parental controls.) BAHAHA Poor RidDICK! If ever Nintendo got it way wrong, this still cracks me up.

In closing, I’m so proud to call this child mine. I wish I could shield him from life’s heartaches and disappointment for the rest of his life, but that’s not realistic. The best I can do is give him the knowledge to survive them.

Leave a Reply

