A LIL COUNTRY LIVIN’

If you had told me even a couple of years ago that I would be a semi-farmer…I would have laughed.   All I ever wanted to do was get away from this place, these mountains, and these people.  Amazing what a few years can do.  I woke up one day and I was a 30 something with dogs and puppies and chickens and a garden…and I like it.  I mean, there is a certain achievement in eating something you actually grew.  Plus, I did get to help make a super cool scarecrow.  I mean, I might kill cacti…but I can grow a tater!

I take my kids to the same fishing and swimming spots I went to as a child.  I yell at them to be careful the same way my father did.  I sit in peace and watch them making their memories that they will tell their kids about someday.

Every day is something new.  Yesterday, I was picking blackberries and floating down the river.  Last night a made a welcome sign for my father out of things lying around…maybe with a little wine.  Today, I’ve been visiting my animals and spending time with my two favorite dads.  I mean, so what if Old Navy is an hour away, at least I have my chickens…

2 thoughts on “A LIL COUNTRY LIVIN’

  1. Great post! It’s amazing what a few years can do. When I was younger I hated living in the boonies. All I wanted was city living! Now my husband and I are talking about off-grid living on 40 acres. Crazy how our values change with age.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeaniecatron says:

      LOL exactly! If I didn’t need to go to the outlet mall once in a while, I would just stay up here on my little mountain forever!

      Like

Leave a Reply

